Ranis Castle stands on a rugged rocky outcrop above the Orla Valley. Even from a distance, one can see the complex towering above the town of the same name. The Brandensteins, the family of his second wife, were granted Ranis as a fief by Duke Wilhelm III of Saxony. However, after several changes of ownership, the complex fell into increasing disrepair. Today, following extensive restoration work, Ranis Castle has been restored to its former glory and is home to, amongst other things, a museum. In addition, the castle hosts the Thuringian Literature and Authors’ Days every year, an event renowned far beyond the region.
For one, the story ended tragically; for the other, however, it had a happy ending. Duke Wilhelm III of Saxony was initially married to Anna of Austria, the daughter of the German king. However, the marriage produced no male heir, and so the unhappily married Wilhelm had his wife imprisoned. After Anna’s death, he was able to marry his long-standing mistress, Catherine of Brandenstein, in 1463. To strengthen this marriage, which was not quite in keeping with his social standing, Wilhelm granted his bride’s family the fief of Ranis Castle in 1465. Although the Brandenstein family undertook building work on the castle, they were unable to hold on to it for long. As early as 1571, they were forced to cede the complex to the Lords of Breitenbauch due to excessive debt – and Ranis Castle was to remain in their possession until 1942. The von Breitenbauchs, who later changed their name to Breitenbuch, continued to expand and modernise the castle. However, it became increasingly difficult for the Breitenbuchs to maintain the complex as well. This led to some demolition and dismantling work. From 1926 onwards, they therefore attempted to establish a museum and a restaurant. However, the attempt failed and so they were ultimately forced to sell the castle in 1942.
From all eras
The castle is visible to visitors from a great distance, standing proudly on a rocky ridge above the town of the same name. The exact year of the castle’s foundation is unknown, but it is first mentioned in a document in 1199. The oldest surviving features of the castle, such as the southern tower of the gatehouse and the lower part of the keep, date from around 1200. Visitors can explore and climb the keep at their leisure. However, the castle’s current appearance dates back to the 17th century and the alterations carried out in the 19th century. Today, the complex comprises a central keep, a castle courtyard and a spacious outer bailey.
Museum and Centre for Literature
The castle complex currently houses the Ranis Castle Museum. Visitors can view the permanent exhibition ‘Geology of the Orla Valley’ as well as the exhibition ‘A Glimpse into the Ice Age’. Every year, Ranis Castle hosts the renowned Thuringian Literature and Authors’ Days, organised by the Lese-Zeichen e.V. association. Past guests have included Katharina Thalbach, Sven Regener and Iris Berben.